top of page

M.E.D A man of wise words.

Dyson praised the many differences that make up America, and how the wide range of races and ethnicity's should be exactly what pulls us together, not apart. Dyson surprised me when his speech actually touched on the topic of urban violence in America's inner cities. He mentions that though there is tension between races, the biggest and most obvious is that of the divide between blacks and whites. This stands for people in the work force, children, police violence, and more. He even quotes famous (and one of my personal favorites) Tupac Shakur in a song when he stated "If you wanna last, be the first to blast." This gun violence reference was one of the few references he made to the hip hop culture to successfully get his point across.

I was luckily able to meet Dyson after the speech and we had a brief but enjoyable conversation in which I found out that I attended the same high school as his daughter in Chicago (shout out to Whitney M. Young, home of the Dolphins!) From what I can tell, he's definitely a great man, and I would recommend you all to at least watch a video of his if you don't get the chance to see him live in action. It will definitely be time well worth it!

Me and the man himself!

Me and the man himself!


bottom of page