top of page

My Periscope review!

I decided to tune into the live streams of two well-known celebrities that I admire: Actor Taye Diggs and Actress/songstress Keke Palmer. On a positive note, I did enjoy viewing the periscope video enough to watch a second one. This is how I came across Palmers video, in which I decided to focus on in particular. Growing up as a kid I’ve always appreciated Palmers work as an actress and singer. After becoming successful with gigs like “Akeelah and the Bee” the movie (2006), and “Grease Live” the musical (2016), I have kept up with her on a professional and personal level.

The 22 year old Palmer decided to do a periscope live interview on March 11, 2016. She chatted with fans, did a question and answer session, and promoted her up and coming projects as well. She was able to give her viewers an up close and personal account of her daily life. This was one of the advantages to the periscope live stream. The ability for normal people to view what a celebrity undergoes in life behind the camera in “real time” gives audiences a personal connection that they may not get from simply watching a staged interview. Another pro to the app is the ability for users to comment during the stream, and for the broadcaster to be able to read and respond to the live comments. Fans were able to ask questions and she was able to answer them as soon as they were asked, as if Palmer and the chatters were all in a room together. The only con I found was the “glitching” effect that the stream had at certain times in the broadcast. There were delays for minutes at a time at one point, and general video buffering or pauses. However, I do think that is to be expected with any video, especially a live streamed one, so it wasn’t as big of a deal to me.

Overall I really enjoyed viewing periscope and I would definitely consider using it again in the near future. I believe it can be effectively used for companies, celebrities, and other organizations as a marketing and advertising tool. Though this was a one on one video with a celebrity, she was still able to market her brand as an actress/songstress by promoting new and upcoming movies, TV shows, and other song projects as well. I enjoyed the fact that she was able to do so in a professional manner, while still maintaining the intimate, personal feel as well.

Actress/Songstress Keke Palmer, 22.


bottom of page